Thursday, March 01, 2007

Analyzing Star Wars: Trilogy Triviality

The Star Wars Trilogies are feeling a bit like a jigsaw puzzle to me. There's a place for everything, and it's just a matter of looking at the pieces to get a feel for how they fit.

You see, 1-2-3 and 4-5-6 are technically the two trilogies, but the stories feel wrong that way. So, lets look at it a little differently.

Episode 1 is more like Episode Zero. A prequel to the prequels. It's sort of independent of the actual story. It's an introduction to the characters and sets the scene for everything.

It isn't until Episode 2 that the story really starts. Look at the arc of the story. It's Episode 2 that really begins the story of the Empire and the fall of Anakin. It's Episodes 2, 3, and 4 that are our first actual trilogy. The story begins with the marriage of Anakin and Padme. Episode 2 also marks the beginning of the plans for the Death Star. It continues into Episode 3 with Anakin's transformation into Darth Vader. The death of Padme. Then the birth and subsequent separation of Luke and Leia. Episode 4 picks up with everyone reuniting. Luke and Leia and Obi Wan. Obi Wan and Anakin. It ends with the destruction of the Death Star that first appeared in Episode 2 and a celebration. One would celebrate. And this ends our story arc.

The first trilogy is the story of the Death Star and the destruction of the Jedi. Obi Wan's death marked the end of the war against the Jedi. I know, Yoda was still alive, but this was unknown at the time.

The second trilogy is Episodes 4, 5 and 6. This is pretty clear. It's the original trilogy for a reason.

This leaves one question? How the hell is 4 a part of both trilogies? Well, it's sort of like a bridge. It finishes one story while beginning another. It just feels right as a part of both.

Look at the arc of the original trilogy. 4 ends with the celebration, 5 is the tragic ending with Han held captive and Luke losing his arm. 6 ends with the destruction of the second Death Star and the fall of the Empire.

Episode 2 ends with the wedding of Anakin and Padme. It's a celebration. 3 is the tragic ending. It's Anakin on the verge of death and Padme dying. 4 ends with the destruction of the Death Star and a celebration.

The story arcs are correct. Episode 1 does NOT fit into the trilogy. It's just an independent story. It's necessary, but not. It serves to establish a universe, not begin a cohesive story. It's purely an introduction. It's a preface. It just shows how it all began, it has nothing to do with what really happened.

"Why are we here? We serve no real purpose in the overall story."
"No, but we ARE pretty fucking sweet!"

Episode 2, therefore, has to be considered the first chapter. It's where are story of clones and empires begin. Episode 3 is our tragic middle piece and Episode 4 is our happy ending.

Still not convinced, huh? You think I'm probably crazy, or at the very least a little weird. Fine. Consider this...Obi Wan Kenobi is an integral character in Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith and the first half of A New Hope. However, he is almost non-existent in the second half of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. The first trilogy is largely his story. The second is Luke's. Obi Wan plays a very small role in this story. He's a minor character used primarily to connect the dots for Luke.

Ok, the first trilogy is the fall of Darth Vader. He shows the first signs in Clones and really goes balls to the wall in Revenge, but it's not complete until he kills his former master.
I've been waiting for you, Obi Wan. We meet again, at last. The circle is now complete. When I met you I was but the learner. Now, *I* am the master.
The story has ended here. This is the completion of Vader's fall. The culmination of his short-sightedness and arrogance.

"Bitch, you gotta go. Cab fare's on the nightstand"

How about the old Death Star? It makes it's first appearance in Clones. By the end of Revenge it's already in the building and is completed in A New Hope. Again, it's a part of this first trilogy.

"Check out my new PDA, it has holo imaging. Does your Blackberry do that?"

"I have a bad feeling about this"

The second trilogy is about the fall of the Empire. A fall that begins with the destruction of the Death Star. The Empire begins to show signs of weakening by not being able to end the rebellion and is eventually destroyed with the death of the Emperor.

Each trilogy presents it's own unique storyline. A New Hope has to be viewed, however, as part of both, while The Phantom Menace stands on it's own. It's the only way that it really works.